历史

George Sinclair

1951 年,多伦多大学电气工程教授 George Sinclair 博士和副工程师兼工程师 Peter Yachimec 在多伦多一家干货店的地下室成立了 Sinclair Radio Labs Ltd.。从一开始,他们的愿景就是设计和制造具有卓越品质和耐用性的定制和标准无线电设备。尽管产品范围和目标市场有所扩大,但今天公司的重点仍然没有改变。

最初,我们非常关注满足军事防御要求的产品。例如,辛克莱为加拿大、美国、英国和荷兰海军提供了多路耦合器设备。今天,我们的 Sinclair 产品线专注于无线领域的商业应用,包括天线、多路耦合器、组合器、双工器、隔离器、安装硬件和远程商业站点的设备防护罩等产品。我们还提供范围广泛的教育视频和以客户为中心的研讨会来支持我们的产品线。

我们的市场扩展到包括铁路、公共安全和警察和消防等组织,以及陆地移动、蜂窝电话、PCS/PCN、全球网络提供商的寻呼。除了我们的标准产品线外,我们还为我们为客户定制和开发新产品的灵活性感到自豪。一些例子:

  • 为加拿大卫星计划开发的可伸缩天线
  • 为加拿大战斗机设计的通信设备:Avro Arrow
  • 为 FBI 和其他执法机构伪装成汽车后视镜的 VHF 天线
  • 隐藏在塔内的天线,在卡尔加里奥运会上举行奥运圣火
  • 安装在伦敦“地铁”系统地铁车厢上的定制设计天线

George Sinclair 一生都在从事教育工作;首先在俄亥俄州立大学,后来在多伦多大学。他一生都保持着这些联系,并对教育做出了坚定的承诺。作为一家公司,我们对学习也有着同样的兴趣,直到今天,在我们创始人的领导下,我们仍然与这两个学习机构以及其他机构保持联系。他创建一个创新和专业的行业的愿望是我们今天热切追随的信念。

公司通过本手册中详细介绍的计划赞助员工教育,我们鼓励您积极参与公司赞助的教育计划。随着我们的成长,我们互相帮助成长。

我们有一个可以引以为豪的过去和一个可以让我们兴奋的未来。我们都将以此为基础,创建一个更好的组织,并延续辛克莱的强大传统。

History

 

George Sinclair

In 1951 Dr. George Sinclair, a professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Toronto, and Peter Yachimec, an associate and fellow engineer, formed Sinclair Radio Labs Ltd. in the basement of a dry goods store in Toronto. From the beginning, their vision was to design and manufacturer customized and standard radio equipment of superior quality and durability. Although the scope of products and target markets has expanded, the focus of the Company remains unchanged today.

Initially, there was a strong focus on products for military defense requirements. For example, Sinclair has supplied multicoupler equipment to Canadian, American, British and Dutch navies. Today our Sinclair product line is focused on commercial applications for the wireless world which includes products such as antennas, multicouplers, combiners, duplexers, isolators, mounting hardware and equipment shelters for remote commercial sites. We also provide a wide range of educational videos and customer focused seminars to support our product lines.

Our markets expanded to include railways, public safety and organizations such as police and fire, as well as land mobile, cellular telephone, PCS/PCN, paging for network providers worldwide.  Aside from our standard product lines, we pride ourselves in our flexibility to customize and develop new products for our customers. Some examples:

  • an extendable antenna developed for the Canadian satellite program
  • communications equipment designed for the Canadian fighter jet: the Avro Arrow
  • a VHF antenna disguised as a car side-view mirror for FBI and other law enforcement agencies
  • an antenna hidden inside the tower which held the Olympic flame at the Calgary Olympics
  • a custom designed antenna mounted on subway cars in the London “Underground” system

Throughout his life, George Sinclair was involved in education; first at Ohio State and later at the University of Toronto. These connections he maintained all of his life, along with a deep commitment to education. We as a Company also share that same interest in learning and still today, following in our founder’s leadership, retain a connection with both of these learning institutions as well as others. His desire to create an innovative and professional industry is the belief we avidly follow today.

The Company sponsors employee education through a plan you will find detailed in this handbook and we encourage you to take an active part in the company sponsored education programs. As we grow, we help each other to grow.

We have a past we can take pride in and a future we can be excited about. We will all build on this, to create an even better organization and continue on the strong Sinclair traditions.